What’s in it for me?


I have become a fairly cynical person. With most interactions I tend to think what is in it for me… and I don’t mean opening a door for a stranger of giving a dollar to person in need. I know that most people around me think the same way whether they admit it or not. 

Entrepreneurs with small start ups think that selling on commission only is a truly interesting value proposition. I often get asked to share risk… I still don’t understand where the risk is when I carry the burden of sales and the vendor owns the IPRs. I also often get request for introductions and general advice. Just because I am well connected and have advice to give doesn’t mean that it was accumulated without cost and personal sacrifice. I help people in finding matching placements, meeting the right funding and I advice on business strategy (I give my opinion). I do believe that when I am doing that I am making an investment. One day that person will be in a position to provide a high value favor for me and I expect them to do that "from the goodness of their hearts."

In sales you need to map all the stake holders and for each person answer the simple question: "What’s in it for them?" If you can satisfy everyone’s needs you have a deal. The worst is not knowing all the decision influencers, because you can be sure that someone is working them.

Technorati Tags:
Leave a Reply

